Srimad Bhagavatam Canto 10, Chapter 43, Text 17

SB 10.43.17

mallanam asanir nrnam nara-varah strinam smaro murtiman
 gopanam sva-jano ’satam ksiti-bhujam sasta sva-pitroh sisuh
mrtyur bhoja-pater virad avidusam tattvam param yoginam
 vrsninam para-devateti vidito rangam gatah sagrajah
The various groups of people in the arena regarded Krsna in different ways when He entered it with His elder brother. The wrestlers saw Krsna as a lightning bolt, the men of Mathura as the best of males, the women as Cupid in person, the cowherd men as their relative, the impious rulers as a chastiser, His parents as their child, the King of the Bhojas as death, the unintelligent as the Supreme Lord’s universal form, the yogis as the Absolute Truth and the Vrsnis as their supreme worshipable Deity.
Srila Sridhara Svami quotes the following verse, which explains the ten attitudes toward Krsna described here:
raudro ’dbhutas ca srngaro
 hasyam viro daya tatha
bhayanakas ca bibhatsah
 santah sa-prema-bhaktikah
“[There are ten different moods:] fury [perceived by the wrestlers], wonder [by the men], conjugal attraction [the women], laughter [the cowherds], chivalry [the kings], mercy [His parents], terror [Kamsa], ghastliness [the unintelligent], peaceful neutrality [the yogis] and loving devotion [the Vrsnis].”
Srila Visvanatha Cakravarti points out that people like the wrestlers, Kamsa and the impious rulers perceive Krsna as dangerous, angry or threatening because they fail to understand the actual position of the Personality of Godhead. Actually, Lord Krsna is everyone’s friend and well-wisher, but because we rebel against Him, He chastises us, and thus we may perceive Him as threatening. Krsna, or God, is actually merciful, and when He punishes us, that is also His mercy.
Srila Bhaktisiddhanta Sarasvati Thakura quotes the following Vedic statement: raso vai sah rasam hy evayam labdhvanandi bhavati. “He Himself is rasa, the taste or mellow of a particular relationship. And certainly one who achieves this rasa becomes anandi, filled with bliss.” (Taittiriya Upanisad 2.7.1)
Srila Bhaktisiddhanta Sarasvati quotes a further verse to explain the word rasa:
vyatitya bhavana-vartma
 yas camatkara-bhara-bhuh
hrdi sattvojjvale badham
 svadate sa raso matah
“That which is beyond imagination, heavy with wonder and relished in the heart shining with goodness — such is known as rasa.”
As Srila Rupa Gosvami elaborately explains in his Bhakti-rasamrta-sindhu, there are five main rasas — neutrality, servitude, friendship, parental love and conjugal love — and seven secondary rasas — amazement, humor, chivalry, compassion, fury, fear and dread. Thus altogether there are twelve rasas, and the supreme object of them all is Sri Krsna Himself. In other words, our love and affection are actually meant for Sri Krsna. Unfortunately, out of ignorance we stubbornly try to squeeze happiness and love out of material relationships, which are not directly connected to Krsna, and thus life becomes a constant frustration. The solution is simple: surrender to Krsna, love Krsna, love Krsna’s devotees and be happy forever.
Srimad Bhagavatam Canto 10, Chapter 43, Text 16
Srimad Bhagavatam Canto 10, Chapter 43, Text 18